Young Women's Leadership Academy

Return to Headlines

Fort Worth ISD Students Named TCU Community Scholars

Fort Worth – Twenty-one Fort Worth ISD seniors have been awarded full scholarships through the Texas Christian University Community Scholars program. This program was established in 1999 by the TCU Chancellor’s Council on Diversity as a way to increase diversity on campus. 

The Fort Worth ISD students chosen were among more than 300 students who had applied. To qualify, students must be admitted to TCU and attend North Side, Diamond Hill, Trimble Tech, South Hills, OD Wyatt, Dunbar and Polytechnic High Schools.

Students are awarded a full TCU scholarship, valued at $260,000, and in addition to the financial support, students receive targeted academic and personal support.

Upon receiving the award, students accept the scholarship by signing a contract. It asks them to maintain a certain GPA, attend academic workshops, and partake in community service. If any of these requirements are not fulfilled, they are at risk of losing their scholarship.

The newly designated Community Scholars are:

Teresa Alvarado - South Hills High School

Christian Arciniega - South Hills High School

Daniel Cruz - South Hills High School

Romane Mays – South Hills High School

Fidencio Zubieta – South Hills High School

Juan Cervantes Morales - Diamond Hill-Jarvis High School

Juan Gutierrez – Diamond Hill-Jarvis High School

Erick Rodriguez – Diamond Hill-Jarvis High School

Dominique Cooke – Dunbar High School

Kabresha Gibson – Dunbar High School

Sierra Powe – Dunbar High School

Robert Gatabazi – O.D. Wyatt High School

Hussein Omar – O. D. Wyatt High School

Viridiana Gonzalez – Polytechnic High School

Monica Johnson – Polytechnic High School

Saraisabel Perez – Trimble Tech High School

Juan Hernandez – Trimble Tech High School

Cyndi Spurlock – Trimble Tech High School

Zayda Torres – Trimble Tech High School

Adamaris Romero – North Side High School

Sahira Salazar – North Side High School