Skip To Main Content

Our Schools

Health Services

The Health Services Department is charged with the responsibility of the health of the school child while he is under school jurisdiction. A goal of the School Health Services Department is to prepare the student upon maturity to assume the responsibility for his/ her own health and the health of others.

This department consists of Registered Professional Nurses with Bachelor and/or Master of Science Degrees in Nursing. Nurses work closely with other school personnel to plan and carry out the Total School Health Program.


Philosophy

The school nurse, a health specialist, is the member of the total education team who is primarily concerned with the whole child; his optimal physical, mental, emotional and social development.

The primary objective of school nursing is to strengthen the educational process of children and youth by assisting them in improving or adapting to their health status. In collaboration with other educators, the school nurse coordinates the school health program contributing significantly to the full attainment of health and education potential of each individual student.

Contacts

Shannon Cooper, BSN, RN
Director

shannon.cooper@fwisd.org  
817-814-2990

 

Letecia Sanchez
Administrative Assistant

anna.garcia3@fwisd.org
817-814-2992

 

Eliza Villanueva
Administrative Associate la

eliza.villanueva@fwisd.org
817-814-2991

 

Mary Linicomn, MSN, RN
Nurse Specialist 

mary.linicomn@fwisd.org
817-814-2996

 

Cassandra Miles, BSN, RN
Nurse Specialist 

cassandra.miles@fwisd.org
817-814-2998

 

Verby Nash, MS-HAE, BSN, RN
Nurse Specialist 

verby.nash@fwisd.org
817-814-2997

 

Presciliana Olayo
Coordinator of Vision Care Services

presciliana.olayo@fwisd.org

817-814-2813

 

Contact the school nurse assigned to your campus or call us at 817-814-2990 to receive health information.