• Pre-K Team

     Angela Keener

    Angela Keener


    Ms. Keener was born in Dallas, TX, and moved to El Paso when she was five. She lived there for 23 years! She graduated from The University of Texas, and moved to Ft. Worth in 1998. This will be her 26th year at South Hi Mount!!! She has taught Pre-K for 7 years and is excited to watch her students learn and grow. Outside of school, she enjoys reading, watching movies, playing computer brain games, loving on her dogs, and spending time with friends.
    Assistant: Ms. Ross
    A person with braided hair smilingDescription automatically generated with low confidence
    Hi, my name is Melany Ross. I have been working with kids for seven years now. I started off working in an early childcare facility. I had the privilege of working with infants and toddlers and three- and four-year-olds. I ended up moving to an early childcare school where I had the privilege of being a three- and four-year-old teacher. My passion for teaching grew and I wanted to expand my knowledge with teaching. So, I started working with FWISD and had the privilege to work as a paraprofessional working with pre-k-5th grade. My journey with helping kids learn has only just begun. I also really love pandas. If you were to ask me why my only answer is because they make me happy! I’m a chill easy-going person. On my free time I love being outdoors, reading a good book or spending time with kids! 



    Azucena Jiménez López


    Hello! My name is Azucena Jimenez, and I will be your child's teacher this coming school year.  I graduated from Texas Wesleyan University with a Bachelor's in Bilingual Education. This will be my 5th year at South Hi Mount, and my third year in PK. When I am not in school, I love spending time with my friends and family, baking, watching anime, and reading. 

    Assistant: Mrs. Orozco


    I graduated from Arlington Heights High School. I have worked for FWISD for 18 years. I was a Parent Liaison for 4 years and a Teacher Assistant for PreK going on 14 years. I love my job and can't wait to work together with your child this year. I also have 2 children of my own. I have a 24 year old son and a 14 year old daughter. When I'm not working, I enjoy spending time with my friends and family.



    Florisa Espitia


    Hello, My name is Florisa Espitia and I am going to be your new Pre- kindergarten teacher. This will be my twelfth year teaching. I was previously teaching kindergarten at Springdale Elementary. I am so excited to be your teacher!!

    I grew up in Del Rio, Texas with my parents and five siblings. I graduated with a bachelor's degree in early childhood-grade 6 bilingual education from Texas Wesleyan University. I am the proud mother of a 25-year-old son who is serving in the Army National Guard and is a firefighter for the city of Fort Worth..

    I love my coffee, reading, working out and spending time with friends and family. Looking forward to meeting you soon. I know it is going to be a wonderful year. Together we can accomplish anything.

    Hola, mi nombre es Florisa Espitia y voy a ser tu nueva maestra de Pre-kindergarten. Este será mi 12 año de enseñanza. Anteriormente estaba enseñando jardín de niños (kinder) en Springdale Elementary.  Estoy muy emocionado de ser tu maestra!!

    Crecí en Del Rio, Texas con mis padres y cinco hermanos. Me gradué con una licenciatura en educación bilingüe de grado 6 - a  primera infancia de la Universidad Texas Wesleyan. Soy la orgullosa madre de un hijo de 25 años que está sirviendo en la Guardia Nacional del Ejército y es un bombero para la ciudad de Fort Worth.

    Me encanta mi café, leer, hacer ejercicio y pasar tiempo con amigos y familiares. Espero conocerte muy  pronto. Sé que va a ser un gran año. Juntos podemos lograr cualquier cosa.

    Assistant: Mrs. Fabila


    Hello, my name is Mrs.Fabila. I have been a Pre-K teacher assistant for 24 years! I have three beautiful daughters that I am so proud of and a grandson who I adore. I love working with children. Children bring so much joy to me. I love to see them grow throughout the year!  I enjoy spending time with family. I love cooking, road trips, dancing and the beach . My favorite color is turquoise.