Return to Headlines

TCU Awards Full Scholarships to 24 FWISD Seniors

Texas Christian University awarded full scholarships to 24 Fort Worth ISD seniors as part of its Community Scholars program this week.

TCU officials made surprise visits to seven FWISD high schools March 18-21, 2019, where they informed the students that they would receive scholarships valued at $260,000 each.

 The scholarship recipients are:

Diamond Hill-Jarvis High School: Jessica Ruvalcaba and Joey Flores

Dunbar High School: Tiony Cooper and Edriana Cofer

O.D. Wyatt High School: Claudia Nemailem, Aung Hein, Aung Thein, Yilika Loufoua and Maria Villalba

Polytechnic High School:  Xitlalic Carrasco, Elena Olalde, Sung Par and Frdous Yagoub

South Hills High School: Stephanie Trevino, Felipe Ramirez, Alejandra Patino, Jose Mendez and Yoselin Fuentes

Trimble Tech High School: Crystal Avelar and A’nya Ivory 

Young Men’s Leadership Academy: Dontavious Sims, Kristian Gaytan, Matthew Burgos and Mario Terrell

The Community Scholars program, established in 2000 is designed to increase diversity at the university. Annually more than $6 million in scholarship offers are awarded to students from the program’s 13 participating high schools, including schools in the Arlington, Dallas and DeSoto school districts.

Eligible students for the program must be accepted to TCU and attend one of the participating high schools.

Students accept the scholarship by signing a contract. They must maintain a certain grade point average, attend academic workshops and participate in community service to retain the scholarship.  

Click here to view photos from the surprise visits ,and view this WFAA story about the surprise visit at O.D. Wyatt High School. Video footage of the events is also available on the campus social media pages.


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information