Return to Headlines

Fort Worth ISD to Name Six Alumni to the Wall of Fame

What: Six alumni* headed to the Fort Worth ISD Wall of Fame

When: Monday, June 17, 2019, 2:30 p.m.

Where: Fort Worth ISD Administration Building, 100 N. University Drive

Note: The event will be livestreamed on FWISD EDTV YouTube Channel at . This link goes live at 2:15 p.m.

A flight director for NASA’s Apollo missions and a Broadway star who brings down the house are among the next group of alumni to be inducted into Fort Worth ISD’s Wall of Fame. Superintendent Kent P. Scribner will host the Wall of Fame event at 2:30 p.m. on Monday, June 17, 2019, to honor: 

  • Major Attaway(Arlington Heights HS, 2005) Plays the Genie in Aladdin on Broadway and on the North American tour; voice talent for commercials and video games; awarded the Irma P. Hall Black Theatre Medal of Illumination
  • Emily Holt Crocker (Eastern Hills HS, 1968) – Composer of 200 choral works; author of choral textbooks; founder and Music Director Emeritus of the Milwaukee Children’s Choir; former vice president of Hal Leonard music publishers; University of North Texas College of Music’s Honored Alumna for 2009
  • Gerald Griffin (Arlington Heights HS, 1952) – Former director of the Johnson Space Center; former deputy director of the Kennedy Space Center; a flight director for all Apollo manned missions; recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom; technical advisor on the film Apollo 13
  • Opal Lee (I.M. Terrell HS, 1943) – Chair of Juneteenth Fort Worth; founding member of the Community Food Bank; organizer of Opal’s Walk 2 DC; co-founder of Citizens Concerned with Human Dignity; board member of Habitat for Humanity and Unity Unlimited; visionary behind Opal’s Farm
  • Dewey Redman (I.M. Terrell HS, 1949; deceased) – Jazz saxophonist and bandleader; subject of the 2001 documentary Dewey Time; performed with Ornette Coleman and Keith Jarrett and featured on Melody Maker’s 1978 Jazz Album of the Year
  • Burl Yarbrough (Western Hills HS, 1975) – Longtime president of the San Antonio Missions Triple-A baseball club; four-time Texas League Executive of the Year; winner of six Texas League Championships; named to the Texas League Hall of Fame in 2016

Most of the honorees will be in attendance. They join the more than 170 other accomplished and influential alumni on the Wall of Fame.

* Due to an unforeseen scheduling conflict, Mary Tavener Holmes (Arlington Heights High School, 1972), originally among this year’s honorees, will instead be inducted in spring 2020.


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information