Return to Headlines

Fort Worth ISD Introduces 2020-21 Teaching Chairs of Excellence Peter Hernandez, Sam Rosen Elementary


(Friday, December 11, 2020) -- Once again, the Fort Worth ISD, with the generous support of community partners, recognizes outstanding teachers as the District’s Academic Chairs for Teaching Excellence

Modeled after the university-level Chair program, there are 16 categories of distinction. Each honoree receives the title of Chair for Teaching Excellence for one year as well as a $5,000 honorarium. 

Peter Hernandez of Sam Rosen Elementary School thought he was going to meet with a parent when his principal walked him outside on a recent afternoon. To Peter’s surprise, his family, colleagues, and students were there to announce that he had been named the 2020 Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson, LLP Chair for Teaching Excellence in Elementary Reading. 

Watch Peter’s surprise celebration in this video.  


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information