Return to Headlines

January is School Board Recognition Month in Fort Worth ISD and Texas

(Tuesday, January 5, 2021) -- The Fort Worth Independent School District will join 1,024 school districts throughout Texas to celebrate January as School Board Recognition Month, according to Superintendent Kent P. Scribner.

Observed annually, this year’s statewide theme of recognition is “Navigating to Success.”

“Our school board members are elected officials who, as volunteers, shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices for our District. Their goal is always focused on the success of the children we serve,” Dr. Scribner said. “Celebrating ‘School Board Recognition Month’ is one way to say thanks for all they do.” 

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. The Fort Worth ISD’s Board is responsible for an annual budget of over $821 million, 77,000 students, more than 11,0000 employees, and 145 campuses.

In recent years, just a few of the Board’s accomplishments include:

  • Commitment to continuous improvement of student outcomes through the adoption of the Lone Star Governance model of Board leadership
  • Successful passage of the Voter Approval Tax Ratification Election
  • My Brother’s Keeper resolution as well as the institution of MBK programming for the Fort Worth ISD
  • Expansion of Parent University 
  • Racial and Ethnic Equity work system-wide
  • Addressing on-time attendance, graduation rates, and reducing the number of over age/under credit students. 

Board members serving the Fort Worth ISD are: 

  • President (District 1) Jacinto Ramos Jr. First elected in 2013
  • 1st Vice President (District 2) Tobi Jackson. First elected in 2010
  • 2nd Vice President (District 3) Quinton ‘Q’ Phillips. First elected in 2019
  • Board Secretary (District 8) Anael Luebanos. First elected in 2017
  • District 4 Trustee Daphne Brookins. First elected in 2019
  • District 5 Trustee Carin “CJ” Evans. First elected in 2019
  • District 6 Trustee Anne Darr. First elected in 2019
  • District 7 Trustee Norman Robbins. First elected 2004
  • District 9 Trustee Ashley Paz. First elected in 2013 

“It’s more important than ever that communities support public education in order to prepare today’s students to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Please take a moment and tell school board members ‘thanks for caring about our children and giving so much to our community.’ Let them know we support them and that their dedicated service is recognized and truly appreciated,” Dr. Scribner said. 


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information