Return to Headlines

Fort Worth ISD Board Elections Held Saturday; Run-off in District 9 Will Be Held June 5

On Saturday, May 1, 2021, Fort Worth ISD voters returned two incumbents to the District Board of Education; another race will be decided in a June 5 run-off election. 

  • Current Board President Jacinto Ramos, Jr. was unopposed in the District 1 race and will continue to represent northwest Fort Worth.
  • District 4 Representative Daphne Brookins and District 8 Representative Anael Luebanos both won their contests and will return to the Board. Ms. Brookins garnered 87% of the vote while Mr. Luebanos collected almost 75% of the vote from his district.
  • Long-time District 7 Representative Norman Robbins lost his seat on the Board to former FWISD administrator Michael Ryan. Mr. Ryan received just over 63% of the vote while Mr. Robbins received just under 34%. He has represented southwest Fort Worth since first being elected to the Board in 2004.
  • The District 9 race will be decided by a runoff on June 5. Roxanne Martinez, who drew just over 49% of the vote, will face-off against Cade Lovelace who collected just under 28%. The District 9 race is needed to fill the seat being vacated by incumbent Ashley Paz. Mrs. Paz decided not to seek re-election.

All results are unofficial until being canvassed and accepted by the full Board at a future Board meeting. In all, 11,560 voters participated in the Fort Worth ISD Board of Education election.




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information