Return to Headlines

FWISD Board Members Take Oath of Office

Brookins signing inDuring a Special Fort Worth ISD Board of Education meeting on Tuesday, May 11, 2021, trustees canvassed the results of the May 1 General Election and approved an order declaring the results of elections for Districts 4, 7, 8, and 9.

The Board also declared the unopposed District 1 candidate elected.

President Jacinto Ramos, Jr. represents District 1 and was re-elected to his current position without any opposition. Mr. Ramos was first elected to the Board in 2013.

Incumbents Daphne Brookins, representing District 4, and Anael Luebanos, representing District 8, both were sworn to new terms. This will be Ms. Brookins first full term. She was elected in 2019 to complete the unexpired term of Dr. T.A. Sims who retired. Mr. Luebanos was first elected to the Board in 2017.

Newly-elected Board member Dr. Michael Ryan was sworn in to represent District 7. Dr. Ryan is a graduate of Paschal High School and a former Fort Worth ISD administrator. He defeated longtime trustee Norman Robbins who had served the Fort Worth ISD since 2004.

The District 9 trustee position, replacing Ashley Paz who decided not to seek re-election, has yet to be decided. The Board ordered a run-off election between Roxanne Martinez and Cade Lovelace to take place on June 5, 2019.


View the full photo gallery.



Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information