Return to Headlines

Fort Worth ISD Introduces 2020-21 Teaching Chairs of Excellence

Once again, the Fort Worth ISD, with the generous support of community partners, recognizes outstanding teachers as the District’s Academic Chairs for Teaching Excellence.

Modeled after the university-level Chair program, there are 16 categories of distinction. Each honoree receives the title of Chair for Teaching Excellence for one year as well as a $5,000 honorarium.

On a recent chilly afternoon, Shelli Aulisio’s principal at Sam Rosen Elementary School convinced Shelli to step outside to look through some new art supplies that a donor brought to school. The actual reason for the outdoor visit was a surprise celebration to announce Shelli was the 2020 Angela D. Paulos Chair for Teaching Excellence in Visual Arts.

Watch the big surprise in this video.