Return to Headlines



Information for Parents About the STAAR Test

Who? All public school students in Texas, grades 3–12, take STAAR tests.
What? STAAR is the state’s testing program and is based on state curriculum standards in core subjects including reading, writing, mathematics, science, and social studies.
When? Grades 3–8 STAAR tests are given in the spring. End-of-course assessments (EOC) are given throughout the year. The number of tests your child takes each year will depend on what grade he or she is in. Most students will have two to four testing days during the school year.
Where? STAAR tests are given to students at their own school, in regular classrooms that have been set up to make it easy to focus on the test. If students have certain special needs and require special accommodation, they may be tested in a different area of the school.
Why? STAAR tests are designed to measure what students are learning in each grade and whether they are ready for the next grade. The goal is to ensure that all students receive what they need to be academically successful. Meeting these individual student needs depends greatly on schools, parents, and community members working together.
How? STAAR tests for grades 3–8 and EOC assessments are offered in both online and paper formats.
Reading STAAR - April 9
Science STAAR - April 16
Math STAAR - April 23