Return to Headlines

Tanglewood ES Student Clinches FWISD Elementary Math Bee Crown

There could only be one champion, and after 17 “tension-filled” rounds Fort Worth ISD crowned its 2020 Elementary Math Bee winner recently.2020mathbee

A division problem clinched the 2020 title for Yashas Nallabothula, a fourth grader at Tanglewood Elementary School.  Diego Andrade, a fifth grader at South Hills Elementary, finished runner up in the competition, hosted Saturday, January 18 at O.D. Wyatt High School.

The second annual FWISD Elementary Math Bee tested students’ math skills in solving number sense problems.  

“The Elementary Math Bee was full of tension and cheers,” said Melvinia Robinson, a Math Bee organizer and coordinator for the District’s Elementary Mathematics division. “These students competing are the best and the brightest representing their home campus.” 

More than 40 students advanced to the contest after winning math bees on the respective campuses last fall.

This year’s competition was the first time an overall District champion was recognized. It’s a District goal to one day have the overall Math Bee winner compete at the state level. 

The following students represented their respective campuses in the second annual FWISD Elementary Math Bee:


Alexander Crawley, Benbrook

Hugo Salazar, Bonnie Brae

Zachary Williams, Edward J. Briscoecontestants

Catherine Aller, Bruton Hill

Brian Martinez, Carter Park

Sernity Ovalle, Cesar Chavez

Benjamin Bardewa, Como Montessori

Manuel Sandoval, Alice D. Contreras

Finn Tobar, Daggett Montessori

Daniel Anene, De Zavala

Mbita Musenda, Bill J. Elliott

Jayden Santos, Greenbriar

Juan Abrego, H.V. Helbing

Christian Hernandez, Hubbard Heights

Juan Pablo Rios, Dolores Huerta

Carlos Grijalva, Manuel Jara

Anthony Davis, Maude I. Logan

A’mya Morgan-Lee, Atwood McDonald

Lamond Taylor, Meadowbrook

Maoule Kluassi, M. L. Phillips

Naydelin Garay, Morningside

Matthew Carpenter, North Hi Mount

LaMiesha Abbey, A.M. Pate

Aaria Robertson, Carroll Peak

Paulina Herrera, Rosemont

Brooke Manning, Sam Rosen

Alfredo Veloz-Torres, David K. Sellars

Cooper Varnon, Bruce Shulkey

Diego Andrade, South Hills

Ruti Torres, Springdale

Yashas Nallabothula, Tanglewood

Allison Luna, W.J. Turner

G’Marian Courtney, Van Zandt-Guinn

Adriana Ledesma, Washington Heights

JD Lambert, Waverly Park

Joselin Lara, West Handley

Xuan Bach Nguyen, Westcliff

Andrea Jimenez, Western Hills

Judd Herman, Westpark

Ignacio Alvidrez, Versia L. Williams

Brianna Sanchez, Richard J. Wilson

Jackie Villegas, Worth Heights 


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information