Return to Headlines

FWISD Announces Invention Convention Winners

Students from Daggett Montessori and S.S. Dillow Elementary School are Fort Worth ISD’s 2018-2019 Invention Convention grand-prize winners. Hosted by FWISD’s Advanced, Accelerated and Innovative Learning (AAIL) Department, the contest spotlights kindergarten through seventh-grade  inventors. 

Kylee Williams, a Daggett Montessori fifth-grader, is the Science-Minded Artist winner for her project, “Escape Art.” Third-grader Rodrigo Avila, of S.S. Dillow Elementary, received the Art-Minded Scientist award for his project, “Safe Wall.” Lily Rogers, a Westpark Elementary third-grader, was an honorable mention recipient for her project, “Flawless Paws.”

Grand-prize winners received $250 scholarships from local nonprofit, Imagination Fort Worth.

Students produce innovative and creative art and science inventions that can improve the world using critical and inventive thinking skills, according to AAIL officials. 

Nearly 90 projects from 33 FWISD schools were judged on originality, usefulness, written description, research and illustration, November 30 and December 1. Winners were recognized at an awards ceremony, December 1.

Tiffany Rogers, mother of this year’s honorable mention recipient, said Invention Convention sparks encouragement and creativity in children through science and art.  Her son competed and won the District contest 10 years ago. He’s now studying architecture at the University of Texas, inventing and creating buildings, and that “all started with Invention Convention,” she said.

“Invention Convention was always a highlight as we watched him, and now our daughter also, imagine and bring to life their ideas,” Ms. Rogers wrote to Imagination Fort Worth.

This year’s Invention Convention individual award winners are:



View Invention Convention contest photos here.