Return to Headlines

Fort Worth ISD Selects Finalists for 2021 District Teachers of the Year

Fort Worth, TexasFort Worth ISD recognized 10 District Teacher of the Year finalists with surprise campus visits. Schools were creative in the way they surprised their honorees, with drum lines, cheerleaders, banners, balloons, and student performances to show their appreciation.

The finalists will advance to the next phase of the District Teacher of the Year selection process, which includes a panel interview in mid-April.


Angela Ferguson, fourth grade Math and Science – Lowery Road ES

Brigit Lopez, K-1 Physical Education– Western Hills Primary

Mary McKinnie, Pre-K – sixth grade Special Education – Jo Kelly School

Olivia Olalde, fifth grade Bilingual – Alice Contreras ES

Anthony Smith-Wright, fifth grade Science and Social Studies – Eastern Hills ES


Ann-Denise Anderson, ninth – 12th grade Art 1, Photography 2 & 3, AP Studio Art, Drawing, 3D – Polytechnic HS

Vanida Chanthaphone, seventh and eighth grade English and Reading – Monnig MS

Casey Kirchner, 11th and 12th grade U.S. History, Pre-AP U. S. History, Leadership – R. L. Paschal HS

TeNeal “Charlie” Metcalf, ninth, 11th, 12th grade AP & Pre-AP Biology– Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Tobie Moser, sixth and seventh grade Science – Young Men’s Leadership Academy

Each finalist received a floral arrangement and a gift card from Central Market, the sponsor of the District Teacher of the Year award program.

The Elementary and Secondary District Teacher of the Year winners will be announced in early May.  Each of the two award winners receives a $5,000 honorarium from Central Market.  The eight finalists will receive a $1,500 award from Central Market.



Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information