Return to Headlines

Board Appreciation Month


  • Toby Jackson - Board Member

    First elected 2010; Term expires 2019

    Represented Schools:
    Eastern Hills Elementary, Christene C. Moss Elementary, S.S. Dillow Elementary, Glen Park Elementary, Meadowbrook Elementary, D. McRae Elementary, Mitchell Boulevard Elementary, Oaklawn Elementary, Sagamore Hill Elementary, T.A. Sims Elementary, Forest Oak Middle, William James Middle, Meadowbrook Middle, Eastern Hills High School, Polytechnic High School

    CEO, Fort Worth SPARC



    Tobi Jackson is a parent, educator, and administrator. A lifelong resident of East Fort Worth who attended: Eastern Hills Elementary, Meadowbrook Middle School, and proudly graduated in 1978 from Eastern Hills High School.  This FWISD education prepared her for a successful transition into college, where she received a B.A. from The University of Texas at Arlington and an M.S. from the University of North Texas.   She and husband Bruce have two children, Alexis and Zoie, ages 17 and 13. Alexis is a sophomore at Paschal High School and plans to become a physician.  Zoie is a 7th grader at The Oakridge School.

    Public service and volunteerism are core components of The Jackson Family. Mrs. Jackson's husband Bruce served as General Contractor of HOPE FARM and has an extensive history with Habitat for Humanity, directing the Arlington Rangers Ballpark Build for nearly a decade. Their daughters are the youngest members of The City of Fort Worth Adopt a Park Program. As lifelong stewards of Eastern Hills Park, they initiated the adoption in 2012. This was not the girls first foray into community service, as at the ages of four and eight, they worked to develop a program with Mission Arlington entitled, "Shoes to Share". This group fulfilled Mission Arlington founder, Ms. Tillie Burgin's greatest need, shoes. The "Shoes to Share" program provided Mission Arlington with over 1000 shoes collected within an eight month time period. The program is still unprecedented.

    Her professional experience in education includes: administrator and faculty member in public, private, and corporate arenas. Coupled with over 4 decades of community service in Tarrant County, Ms. Jackson’s focus is firmly planted in sustainable, outcomes driven efforts which move the needle in education.

    Ms. Jackson’s focus in education is The Economic Burden of Opportunity Youth. Those students, aged 16 to 24, who stop attending school. In 2012, The United States of America had 17% or 6.7 million "Opportunity Youth", capable of producing a $4.7 trillion full lifetime burden, or roughly 33% of the Gross Domestic Product (GDP). This compelling data which was published by Dr. Hank Levin of Columbia Teachers College in January 2012, certainly demonstrates the importance education plays on all aspects of a community and it's ability to thrive.

    Professionaly, Ms. Jackson’s focus as the Executive Director of Fort Worth Sparc is:

    • Improving quality and equity in access to OST (out of school time) activities for all children in Fort Worth's 349 square miles.   
    • Fort Worth Sparc Programs are: Litter Free Zones, Asthma 411 and 211, Go Speak Up, Intersections and WE Read


    • Shining Star Award - The Sunshyne Network June 2016
    • Award for Continuing Innovation in Continuing Professional Education Development - Asthma 411 - May 2016
    • Poly High School Advanced Academics and Innovative Learning Award - May 2015
    • EHHS Distinguished Alumnus Award 2014
    • New Lives Service Award April 2014
    • EFWBA Oustanding Elected Official November 2013
    • FWISD Wall of Fame 2011
    • America’s Promise “Red Wagon Award” 2008
    • Roche Special Achievement Award 2000
    • Mead Johnson “Rookie of the Year” 1989
    • TAPS State Track and Field Coach of the Year 1986 (Peer Awarded)

    Community Boards Current:

    • Tarrant County Cultural Facilities Finance Corporation -  Board Member - March 2015 - present
    • East Fort Worth Business Association Board of Directors  Jan 2012 - Current
    • VEL (Vision East Lancaster) Board Member April 2013 - Current

    Community Organization Memberships:

    • East Fort Worth Optimist 2012 to current
    • Womens Policy Forum Member 2012 to current
    • East Fort Worth Business Association - 2011 to current
    • East Fort Worth Rotary 2016 to current
    • Eastern Hills Homeowners Association Member 1986 to current

    Community Board Service Past:

    • 2014 BASH Steering Committee American Red Cross October 2014
    • Texas IGNITE State Council Member April 2014-April 2015
    • SPARC Inaugural Board - Mayoral appointment January 2013 - January 2016
    • Paul Quinn College Inaugural Member Enrollment Management Advisory Board December 2012
    • Tarrant County Community Justice Council  - January 2011-2015
    • The Oakridge School – Steering Committee 2010 to 2015   Focus:  Academic and Athletic Development
    • Log Cabin Village Park Board Liaison– 2009-2010
    • Van Zandt Cottage Park Board Liaison – 2009-2010
    • Friends of the Herd Park Board Liaison – 2008-2009
    • Arlington Alliance Volunteer Program Award for SHOES TO SHARE  2008
    • Mayfest Park Board Liaison – 2007-2008
    • City of Fort Worth Parks and Community Services Advisory Board (City Council Appointed 2006-2010)
    • St. Alban’s Episcopal School Executive Committee Board of Trustees  2006-2007
    • Co-Founder of “Shoes to Share” joint project with Mission Arlington 2006-2008
    • Fort Worth Public Art Voting Member 2005
    • St. Alban’s Episcopal School – Founding Member and Chair of Grant Committee- 2005 – 2007
    • Harris Methodist Hospital Health Exchange Executive Committee 2003-2004
    • Harris Methodist Hospital Health Exchange Board 2001-2004
    • The Warm Place- Fort Worth-Secured multiple donations thru Bristol Myers-Squibb 1996
    • American Heart Association- State Task Force – Jump Rope for Heart 1983
    • American Heart Association – Tarrant Northeast Board  1983

     FWISD Board Committees/Officer Positions:

    • FWISD Facilities Master Planning Committee 2016 - Current
    • FWISD Athletic Committee Co-Chair January 2014 - Current
    • FWISD Oil and Gas Committee Chair April 2011 - Current
    • Served as FWISD 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President and Secretary
    • Superintendent Evaluation Committee Member 2014,2015,2016