Return to Headlines

Fort Worth ISD Introduces 2020-21 Teaching Chairs of Excellence Sharon Gartrell, Charles E. Nash Elementary


(Wednesday, December 9, 2020) -- Once again, the Fort Worth ISD, with the generous support of community partners, recognizes outstanding teachers as the District’s Academic Chairs for Teaching Excellence.  

Modeled after the university-level Chair program, there are 16 categories of distinction. Each honoree receives the title of Chair for Teaching Excellence for one year as well as a $5,000 honorarium.   

The students in Sharon Gartrell’s kindergarten classes began chanting her name as she stepped outside on a recent fall morning. The Charles E. Nash Elementary teacher was surprised to learn she had just been named the 2020 XTO Energy Chair for Teaching Excellence in Early Childhood Education.  

Watch students surprise their teacher in this video 


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and the Fort Worth ISD Mobile App for the latest information